2017 DSRDA Season Wraps Up

The 2017 season has been a successful year for the Darwin Speedway Riders and Drives Association, with significant venue upgrades, one of the most highly attended opening nights and an actions packed season for all sections.

A huge thank you must go out to everyone who has contributed to the DSRDA this season whether it be as a competitor, crew, volunteers or spectator. It is the efforts that each person puts in that they Speedway relies heavily on to allow everyone to continue to be apart of this sports we all love very much. There have been many accomplishments and highlights across each section throughout the season which we would like to take this time to look back on.

It was a year of change for the Darwin Dirt Squirt club with the engine rules changing to 125cc specifications and also a first was a stand alone event for the Northern Territory Dirt kart titles where they ran the outside 420m track for the very first time. Darren Holt took out the Outlaw title, Neville Briton from New south wales took out the modifieds  and Phill Perrot from South Australia took out the 125cc class in their respective NT titles. For the DSRDA track championship Rebecca Pearce claimed 1st place along with Tony Brown 2nd and Nick Belfield 3rd.

The Juniors Section had 4 new drivers that have joined us this year, so it’s been a great year for car numbers for our Section with approx. 12 cars every race meeting. This has made racing more challenging for the faster cars having to make their way through slower traffic. The 10 lap track record was broken this year for our section along with one of our own Junior Drivers being selected for the Rising Stars Program. We have had some cars head to Katherine Speedway this year and also 4 cars made the journey to Alice Springs to complete in the NT Title against a very strong field.
2018 will see the Junior Sedan Australian Title being held here at  7mate Northline Speedway and Katherine Speedway hosting the NT Title the following weekend.

F500’s 2016 rivalry between Hayden Brown and John Staynoff carried it self all the way through to the 2017 season.  Hayden would go on to take 5 feature wins and the high performance award for the DSRDA. Other highlights for the Formula 500’s was Corey Jackson’s maiden feature win  for the Darwin title and a great field of cars during the Chariots of Thunder incorporating the Northern Territory title for 500’s. Competitors entered from all around Australia trying to get some valuable track time in in after the announcement the Australia Formula 500 title would be held at Northline for 2018.  Chris Bellman from Victoria proved to be to strong for the local competition taking out the NT title at Northline.

The Wingless Sprintcar section had some strong racing throughout the 2017 season with 12 local and 5 visiting competitors. The NT state title was won by NSW driver, Troy Carey but it was local driver, Chris Harrison who took home the Darwin Titles. The NTWSA club points champion was taken out by Sam Borlini from first year driver, Kale Quinlan. The DSRDA season point score was also taken out by Sam Borlini followed by Jarrod Garraway then Kyle Wiseman. The NTWSA are always looking for new drivers and volunteers, so if you would like further information about the club or to join in on all their social events click here to like their Facebook page.

A great season from the Street Stocks and achievement. Justin Brumfield had a string of feature race wins and achievements this season. Taking out the Track Championship, Darwin Title and lap records was enough to earn him the Champions of Champions of DSRDA. Scott Bradbury would finish off 2nd and Simon Spitzbarth in 3rd for the Track Championship.  Russel Gunn took out the Jacob Brumfield memorial. A welcomed project by the street stocks club was the introduction of their very own “Own club car”. The car is a great opportunity to give people ago to help stimulate interest in the sections which is proving to work. The section grew in numbers this season and is expecting another solid year at Northline for 2018.

Amca Nationals delivered some action on the track this year. Eventual track championship winner Brendan Kenna and 2nd place Jacob Belcher had a great season long battle. Maria Panasewycz had a coming of age with her season, vastly improving and gaining speed throughout the season enough to claim 3rd in the DSRDA track Championship. New South Wales driver Shane Newstead took out the Northern Territory title from Kenna and Belcher respectively.

Sprintcars had a massive year with a successful Chariots of Thunder Series. Local hot shoe Chace Karpenko took out the Track Championship in one of the closest point titles to date. Ben Atkinson fired the first shots of the season quickly collecting 3 feature wins. Chase went on to win the first ever “Defend the Top End” and a string of top 3 results and Jason McIver 3rd with  the DSRDA Track championship.

Huge highlights of the season for sprintcars was the return of James Mcfadden in the W17 monte motorsports car. The last time James competed at Northline is where he won his first Australian Sprintcar title back in 2010. James’s was on fire for most of the series with one mechanical problem preventing him from claiming 3 out of the 4 points rounds. James was also the first ever driver to take up the Pope 65 race challenge and win from position 11th pocketing a nice $9,000. Chariots of Thunder is scheduled to return in 2018 on 17, 18, 24 and 25 August.

This year, the DSRDA ran a ‘Section MVP’ competition which allowed the membership the opportunity to vote who they believed was the section MVP in 2017. This could be a competitor, crew, sponsor or volunteer. Each winner will receive a 2018 season pass in recognition of their support. We congratulate the following winners of the 2017 section MVP competition; Jimmy Mann (Volunteer), Jason McIver (Sprintcars), Robert Gordon (AMCAS), Sean Tiedaman (Wingless), Joseph Baronet (F500), Justin Brumfield and James Dennis (Street Stocks), Tim Fry (Go Karts) and Lance Carew (Junior Sedans).

As many are aware, the Strategic Plan has been a working progress throughout the season this year and has now received all feedback from those who participated in the workshops. The feedback received from everyone has been instrumental in achieving a genuine reflection of the membership and guiding a positive way forward for the Speedway. The DSRDA will be holding a general meeting on Wednesday 7 February, we encourage everyone to register their attendance via the website from Wednesday 10 January. Those who register to attend the general meeting will be emailed a link and password to provide them access into the general meeting portal. Within the general meeting portal, you will have access to key documentation that will be discussed including the final strategic plan, employment selection reports and financials. You will also be permitted to submit agenda items to be discussed at the general meeting.

Once again, thank you to everyone who made this season a success, we wish you and families a safe and merry Christmas.