Chariots Double For Egel

After upstaging the big names on night 1 of the Ostojic Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series Matt Egel and the Whyalla Earthworks Racing Team did it again in Round 2 claiming a dramatic win at the Northline Speedway in Darwin. Going into the final lap Egel trailed race leader Lachlan McHugh but as the leader entered turn 1 the right rear tyre on the NQ#7 exploded handing Egel and the Whyalla based team back-to-back $10,000 victories.
“I would rather be lucky than good and tonight I was lucky. I think that’s the first time I have been handed a win like that, but I will take it” added Matt on the podium.
Australian Champion and defending Chariots Champ Jamie Veal fought back superbly to claim the runner-up spot after being crashed out of the dash forcing the Warrnambool racer to start from position eight. On the podium Veal confirmed the chassis had been damaged but was full of praise for his team along with the help he received from the other teams in the pit area.
Local racer Ben Atkinson put in one of the best performances seen at the venue in many years as charged on the podium after initially starting from position 9 in the B-Main. After winning the B-Main Atkinson started from position 17 and at the competition of 30 laps he had clawed his way to third.
For the second night in a row Tasmanian Jock Goodyer and South Australian Ryan Jones filled fourth and fifth. For Jones the result wasn’t what it could have been as he had built up a 3 second lead mid race before Robbie Farr tagged the wall, while running second, with the incident eventually bringing on the red lights after Ryan Davis rolled after hitting the stationary JPM #V14.
Jack Lee. Darren Mollenoyux, Chris Soloman, who made the top 8 dash, Jason Pryde and Callum Williamson rounded out the top 10. After blowing the right rear tyre McHugh was classified in 15th.
The heats were run relatively incident free with wins to Veal, Jones, McHugh and Chris Soloman.
The C-Main saw a big crash on the back straight with the result being David Donegan riding out a big roll in the new Baretta “Sprint Pig”. Jake Smith would win ahead of Troy Hose, Jason Gebert and Danny Porter.
The four drivers who transferred from the B-Main were Ben Atkinson, Chad Ely, Danny Reidy and Callum Williamson while Matt Egel secured the pole after winning the dash from Farr, Jones, Soloman, McHugh, Goodyer, Tate Frost and Veal.
By Phil Michell Motorsport Media