Egel Wins a Thursday Night Thriller

South Australian Matt Egel won the opening night of the Ostojic Group Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series at the Northline Speedway after he caught both Robbie Farr and Lachlan McHugh by surprise as he made a decisive move to pass them both on the low groove. After trailing in third for the opening stanza Egel swooped on the leading duo just past halfway and then held on to defeat a hard charging McHugh despite a late race restart.
“I have been coming up here for a few years now and we had a couple of podium results in the past but its great to finally get the chequered flag. I actually didn’t even see the flag; I knew Lachy was up the top, so I was just focused on keeping him behind” added Matt following the win.
“I knew I had a great car right from the start. To be honest were sucked in the dash so we made a few changes after it, and they worked. Now we have to keep it going”.
After winning the Northern Territory Title at the previous meeting McHugh kept his impressive early season form going with a runner-up result while Robbie Farr showed great speed all night to round out the podium. Farr had earlier won his heat along with winning the top eight dash.
Tasmanian youngster Jock Goodyer got the better of Ryan Jones, in what was a titanic race long battle, with Australian Champion Jamie Veal struggled to a sixth placed result after starting on the second row. Callum Williamson drove the Monte Motorsports #17 to seventh while Darren Mollenoyux, Ben Atkinson and B Main winner Cody Maroske completed the top ten.
Tasmanian Tate Frost was the main casualty of the A-Main after rolling hard on the back straight on lap 2.
In all a total of 44 Sprintcars fronted for the opening night of the Chariots of Thunder Series with the field being split into four heats. The format saw the top two from each heat transfer straight into the Dash.
Heat one saw Robbie Farr defeat Jock Goodyer with Ryan Jones easily winning heat two over Taylor Milling. Jamie Veal was victorious in heat three over Matt Egel while Lachlan McHugh and Callum Williamson booked their tickets into the dash in heat four.
The C-Main saw Chace Karpenko, Brad Maiolo, Danny Porter and Mark Carlin progress to the B-Main while Cody Maroske, Todd Moule, Tate Frost and Jason Pryde made the feature race after finishing inside the top four in the last chance qualifier. Unfortunately for Jy Corbet his night ended suddenly after riding out a big wreck in the B-Main.
Provided by Phil Michell Motorsport Media