Interstaters Can’t Chace Down Local Hero

By Phil Michell Motorsport Media

Round 4 of the 7Darwin Northline Speedway Sprintcar Track Championship burst into life last Saturday night with the locals being joined by several additional interstate competitors but it was a hometown hero who emerged the A-Main winner. After starting on the front row Chace Karpenko would lead all 20 laps on his way to victory but he didn’t have it all his own way as a determined Jack Lee just fell short finishing in the runner-up position in what was his Darwin season debut. Round 2 winner Mitch Wormall finished third therefore making three different States being represented on the podium.

The feature would prove to be a titanic battle between Karpenko and Lee but it almost came undone with a couple of laps to go as they were negotiating lapped traffic. Lap 18 saw the red lights come on after Lee made contact with Nick Halkitis sending the NT#55 upside down. The final two lap dash would see Karpenko edge out a small margin to win by just over 1 second ahead of Lee and Wormall.

Fourth place went to Ryan Davis, with Benny Atkinson Jr, Todd Moule, Terry Kelly, Lenny Cole and Matt Bell rounding out the finishers.

The preliminaries saw three heats conducted with each driver contesting two heats. The fourth event of the Northern season saw 13 cars in the pit area with Victorians Jack Lee, Ryan Davis and Terry Kelly joining the series for the first time. 

Throughout the heats the track proved to be tricky with the pole line being slick but the top being a complete contrast as it was quite heavy. Karpenko, who was debuting a new car for the Muir Motorsports Team, would win the opening heat from a hard charging Jack Lee, who started from position seven. Heat two would see Mitch Wormall win from the pole while the horror run for Nick Halkitis would continue as he would cut down the left front tyre after contact with Kale Quinlan at the drop of the green. The final heat would be a Victorian benefit as Ryan Davis would defeat Jack Lee and Todd Moule.

Round 5 of the Track Championship will be staged at the 7Darwin Northline Speedway on July 9, 2022.