McIver Shines in Northline Speedway Season Finale

Bidding farewell to the 2016 season, Darwin’s Roller Door Services NT Northline Speedway’s jam-packed season finale saw Jason McIver take top honours in the Northern Territory 360 Sprintcar Title.

Starting on pole, McIver was never headed, leading all 20 laps of the title-deciding feature race to take the victory and end his 2016 Northline Speedway campaign on a high. The win was McIver’s fifth NT Title of his career.

Home in second was Keith Phelps ahead of Steven Ling, with Caleb Gotts and David Ling rounding out the remaining finishers.

Simon Spitzbarth was the only non-finisher, who crashed out of contention after a coming together with another competitor on lap seven while fighting for a minor spot on the podium.

Heat-race wins were shared between McIver and Steven Ling.

Supporting the program, pole-sitter Jacob Belcher emerged victorious in the AMCA Nationals feature race, leading the race from start to finish. A great drive by Peter Harding elevated him from fourth place to second on the opening lap, a position he maintained for the remainder of the race. Seizing the final podium spot was Brendan Kenna, with Dave Munro, Jim Keane and Janet Belcher completing the field. Heat-race wins went the way of Harding, Kenna and Munro, while Jacob Belcher showed his consistency by finishing second in all three.

In the Formula 500s, previous feature-race winner Hayden Brown was in solid form and managed to steal the lead from Scott Leonhardt on lap five to take the win, after starting third. Leonhardt held on to second place, while pole-sitter Cori Jackson had to settle for third, after losing the lead to Leonhardt on the opening lap. Boysie Bartholdt was the only remaining finisher, with Ellie Hills forced to retire from the feature race on lap seven. Earlier in the night, Leonhard came away with two heat-race wins, with the remaining win going the way of Jackson. It was a disappointing night for Darwin Champion John Staynoff, whose night was brought to an end following a DNF in the opening heat race.

Lance Carew was the dominant force in the Junior Sedans, stealing the lead from hard-charging Zack Grimshaw on lap seven and going on to score the feature-race win. Zack Grimshaw finished second, with Isaiah Strong claiming third place. Finishing just off the podium was Zack’s sister, Aleisha Grimshaw, who swapped places with Nicholas Dennis in the opening lap and held on to take fourth place. Dennis came home in fifth, with Xavier Gotts completing the finishers. Carew clean swept the night, clinching all three heat-race victories, while Zack Grimshaw just couldn’t capitalise on his speed, finishing second behind Carew in each heat. An unfortunate DNF in the opening heat race saw Brodee Everett’s night come to a premature end.

It was an action-packed feature race for the Street Stocks, which saw Colin Menzies eventually come away with the win, after a fantastic drive. Third-placed Scott Bradbury got the jump on pole-sitter James Dennis off the line and took the lead, while Menzies, who had started second, slipped back to fifth and made his way into first place on lap 14, with just one lap to go. Bradbury finished second, ahead of James Dennis, with Justin Brumfield, Brendan Davison, Kevin Dries and Daniel Dennis rounding out the finishers. Heat-race wins were shared between Bradbury, Menzies and James Dennis.

Fast-paced Kirsty Driver gave a dominant performance in the Darwin Title for Speedway Karts, leading from start to finish and going on to take the win, after starting from pole position. Rebecca Pearce showed strong form to come home in second, with Tim Fry completing the podium in third. Rounding out the top five were Tristan Roulston and Darrin Uniacke, with Steve Driver, Alison Fry, Dennis Banicek and Michael Brown completing the finishers. After starting on the front row, Tony Brown was forced to retire from the feature race on lap four. Heat-race wins went the way of Brown, Pearce and Tim Fry.

For more information about Darwin’s Roller Door Services NT Northline Speedway, visit their website: You can LIKE them on Facebook by searching Northline Speedway or find them on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat by searching Northline Speedway.