Moule Joins The Winners List In Darwin

By Phil Michell Motorsport Media

Victorian youngster Todd Moule became the fifth different winner in the five events in the Sprintcar Track Championship at the 7Darwin Northline Speedway. In an attempt to find more speed, Moule and the Ekins Racing Team, decided to put a new car together and the hard work paid off immediately as he drove from the second row to claim his maiden 410ci Sprintcar main event, following hot on the heels of his maiden 360ci event win with the Allstars Series at Mildura in April.

For the second round in a row Jack Lee secured the runner-up position but he had to work for it after starting from position nine in the eleven-car field. Following a heat win and a fifth placing in his opening two heats he failed to finish his third heat after contact with Luke Robinson. After starting from the fifth row Lee quickly made his way through the pack crossing the transponder line on the opening lap in fifth before moving into the second spot mid-way through the 25-lap encounter.

Third place went to pole sitter Chace Karpenko, who led the opening five laps before being passed by Moule on the bottom groove. He would then fall back further on lap 13 as Lee got by but he would hold onto the final podium spot ahead of Kale Quinlan and Cori Jackson. Quinlan was another driver to be debuting a new car as he rolled out a new Triple X Chassis.

Mitch Wormall, Luke Robinson, who was making a return to racing after three seasons, and Alice Springs racer Lenny Cole rounded out the finishers.

Victorian Ryan Davis, (rear end) and Benny Atkinson Jr (engine) both encountered mechanical issues during the A-Main while Alice Springs resident Matt Bell ran high and tagged the wall on the opening lap bringing on the red lights.

Earlier the heat winners were Jack Lee, Benny Atkinson Jr and Cori Jackson. 

Round 6 of the Northline Speedway Sprintcar Track Championship will be held on Saturday July 30 and it will be the final single night event prior to the Darwin Title / Scardifield Smash Repairs NT Title double header and two weekends of the highly anticipated Chariots of Thunder Series. 

Release by Phil Michell Motorsport Media

For the Northern Territory Sprintcar Association (NTSA)