Veal Wins The Final, Egel Is The Chariots Champ

In one of the most dramatic finishes in the history of the Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series Matt Egel claimed the overall Championship on the final lap as he climbed from the B-Main to finish third in the Grand Final. After winning the opening two nights Egel had to claim a podium result and with a lap to go he ran fifth but an incident involving Jack Lee and Cody Maroske in sight of the finish line gave the Adelaide based racer the two spots he required as the finished third behind Australian Champion Jamie Veal and pole sitter Daniel Harding.
For Veal it was a great way to finish the three-night series but second looked the best he could muster as he trailed Jock Goodyer until the young Tasmanian tagged the back straight wall cutting down his right rear tyre with two laps remaining.
“There was a fair bit happening out there. Jock was really good until he got the wall. I hit it a few times myself and knocked the ladder out of it with a few to go. We really needed a win; we have been struggling up here a bit so its good to finally get one. I must thank my guys and a big shout out to everyone in lockdown back home” added Veal as he accepted his trophy.
For Egel it was a huge relief as despite his two earlier wins it appeared the overall Championship would elude him until Goodyer’s retirement.
“I dug a deep hole for us in qualifying and then I didn’t transfer out of the heat. We had to run the B, but it wasn’t too bad as we got to run some extra laps to get the car right. On that last restart I threw everything at it, I was three wide there, I bounced off the wall, but we got it done”.
Ben Atkinson backed up his third placed run from a night prior to finish fourth and wrapping up third overall behind Egel and Veal. Cody Maroske was solid all night to finish fifth ahead of Chace Karpenko, Jack Lee, Robbie Farr, Ryan Jones and Callum Williamson, who completed the top 10 after being involved in Lachlan McHugh’s crash on lap 2.
Robbie Farr started the night with the fastest lap in qualifying while Brock Hallett, Jock Goodyer, Daniel Harding and Jack Lee won the heats.
Daniel Harding was the winner of the pole shuffle, but he declined the chance to race for the $25,000 bonus from the back as part of the “Pope’s Challenge”.
Matt Egel, James Inglis, Darren Mollenoyux and Chad Ely made the A-Main as the B-Main transferees.
2021 Ostojic Chariots of Thunder Overall Points (Top 20 of 44) – 1. S52 Matt Egel 444, 2. A1 Jamie Veal 434, 3. D2 Ben Atkinson 418, 4. S63 Ryan Jones 416, 5. W17 Callum Williamson 400, 6. T22 Jock Goodyer 400, 7. S13 Brock Hallett 386, 8. V25 Jack Lee 386, 9. W60 Darren Mollenoyux 384, 10. W14 Jason Pryde 378, 11. Q27 Cody Maroske 374, 12. W41 Daniel Harding 372, 13. V14 Robbie Farr 372, 14. NQ7 Lachlan McHugh 370, 15. W80 James Inglis 360, 16. NT55 Chad Ely 350, 17. T62 Tate Frost 348, 18. W53 Chace Karpenko 346, 19. V83 Chris Solomon 338, 20. NQ10 Jy Corbet 330.
By Phil Michell Motorsport Media